Film Independent Spirit Award Winners

Birdman, Nightcrawler & Boyhood were the big winners of the day

The 30th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards aired on IFC on Saturday February 21st. Kristen Bell and Fred Armisen hosted the event. They opened the show with an eye-roll-worthy duet and maintained monotonous banter throughout the ceremony. This is pretty disappointing from a comedic genius like Armisen. Despite numerous small technical difficulties and the lackluster performances by the hosts, the ceremony kept a steady pace with minimal fast-forward worthy moments.
The big winners of the night were Birdman, Nightcrawler, and Boyhood. It is rare to watch an award ceremony and not feel as if someone was slighted, but overall the awards were well-deserved and appropriate.
It is worth mentioning that Nightcrawler is only nominated for the Original Screenplay Oscar but was nominated in multiple categories for the Film Independent Spirit Awards and won two of them. Was this an oversight by the Academy? We think so.
Here is the complete list of winners:
Best Feature – Birdman
Director – Richard Linklater for Boyhood
Lead Male – Michael Keaton for Birdman
Lead Female – Julianne Moore for Still Alice
Supporting Male – J.K. Simmons for Whiplash
Supporting Female – Patricia Arquette for Boyhood
Screenplay – Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler
Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki for Birdman
Editing – Tom Cross for Whiplash
Best First Feature – Nightcrawler
First Screenplay – Justin Simien for Dear White People
John Cassavetes Award – Land Ho!
Documentary – Citizenfour
International Film – Ida
Robert Altman Award – Inherent Vice
Special Distinction Award – Foxcatcher
Piaget Producers Award – Chad Burris, Elisabeth Holm and Chris Ohlson
Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award –Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia
Lenscrafters Truer Than Fiction Award – The Kill Team

No Comments
Riot Nerd Newsletter